About the Library

Illustration of Needham Free Public Library

The Needham Free Public Library opened in 1888 with 1078 volumes in a building at the corner of Chestnut Street and Great Plain Avenue, which it shared with two grocery stores and a post office. In 1914, the Library moved to its current location at Highland Avenue and Rosemary Street where it boasts nearly 175,000 volumes under its roof. Twenty-first century upgrades include WiFi access throughout the building, public access computer terminals, nearly 100 databases, collections of DVD's, CD's, e-books as well as the more traditional newspapers, magazines, books, and reference materials. A staff of nearly fifty works diligently to offer the best and most current materials and services to the patrons of the Library. Overseen chiefly by the board of library trustees as well as town administrators, the Library director manages the day to day operations. A map denoting the locations of the major collections, hours of operation, and directions to the library are found here for your convenience.